lucampa
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi, I am new to this and so I'm not sure if I've posted in the right place. I am going to be writing my personal statement and completing my UCAS application over the summer holidays but am stuck between choosing to study english and history at university. I don't want to do them joint honours. I think that i would prefer english but the male to female ratio is putting me off. Since so few guys take english at uni, I am worried about making a lads group of friends. I know it sounds stupid but I just wandered if there were any current guys who take english that could offer any advice?
ed98
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Sorry I'm not studying English but how come you don't want to do joint honours? If after the first year you decide you prefer one subject over the other you can drop the other subject if you wish.

Of course if you pick just one subject, you could choose some modules from the other subject.

Also in more practical terms, I think you'll find history graduates tend to have better job prospects than English graduates.
lucampa
Rep:
?
(Original post by ed98)
Sorry I'm not studying English but how come you don't want to do joint honours? If after the first year you decide you prefer one subject over the other you can drop the other subject if you wish.

Of course if you pick just one subject, you could choose some modules from the other subject.

Also in more practical terms, I think you'll find history graduates tend to have better job prospects than English graduates.