Turn on thread page Beta

What do u say about these A-Level choices? watch

ReputationRep:
    I have chosen to do Business Studies, Classics, History and ICT for my AS Levels. Can u please tell me if these are good subjects to take and if I get good grades in them wil I be able to get into a good uni like for e.g manchester, umist or Aston.
    I want to do business management or accounting at uni so will these be useful subjects to take?

ReputationRep:
    Business management, provided you got the grades, would suit your choices fine.

However, if you chose to go into accounting, I would think you'd need an AS level in maths - if not an A2. I am not an expert, but to be an accountant, an economics or maths A level would seem necessity...

Otherwise those choices are good, and best of luck to you in your AS year

ReputationRep:
    I always advise people to at least try Maths, but otherwise I would say your choices are fine. I do Business and ICT and the only problem with either is the coursework in ICT, which is a real b*tch!

ReputationRep:
    great choice, you should try maths though.

get good grades you can get in anywhere

ReputationRep:
    If you're good with computers do computing instead of ICT.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by who_me)
    If you're good with computers do computing instead of ICT.
    Admittedly computing has a better reputation. But ICT is very relevent and useful for a Business Management degree.

ReputationRep:
    Good luck with your AS Levels.

ReputationRep:
    I did Business and ICT, and will be going on to do Business Management at Uni in a couple of weeks - so yeah, good subjects to do.

ReputationRep:
    classics and history are good, try and keep them on board even when opting for something businesslike ..

ReputationRep:
    But if I decided to drop Business Studies at AS either because I don't get a good grade in it or because unis don't respect it that much would I still be able to do business management at uni??