bluedottydog123
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
What is a criminology course at university like? Is it analysing data or practicals etc?
And which is the best university to take this course?

My A level target grades are A*, A, and A/B.
Alice.atlanta
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by bluedottydog123)
What is a criminology course at university like? Is it analysing data or practicals etc?
And which is the best university to take this course?

My A level target grades are A*, A, and A/B.
hi there!
I'm a criminal psychology student at the university of derby and hopefully I can help answer some questions for you about criminology! (I'm a course ambassador for both criminology and crim psych).
First of all if you are studying alevels like psychology or sociology, it has pretty similar basis, but don't worry it is nowhere near as boring or frustratingly difficult!
The course itself and the modules involved will differ from uni to uni. What area of the subject interests you the most?
For any uni, the first year will involve research methods, and some research practices in year one or two and for your dissertation in year 3.
Criminology specifically will involve some data analysis in regards to crime statistics, and research results. A lot of criminology is theoretical based and research based, so not too many numbers!
In regards to practicals at derby we have loads of field opportunities including visits to the magistrates courts, a trip to america (involving prison visits and ride alongs), a trip to the hague, prisons in nottingham.