Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

So I am due to start the AS level History course in September, and I have attempted to write an essay more coherent to the A level specification. It is not yet finished (and I am yet to actually be taught content) but I am basing it off some summer reading I have started on Russian History.

My apologies if the essay is not exactly brilliant, it is my first attempt at an A level essay.

How far do you agree that the main reason for the failure of the Provisional Government was the decision to continue fighting in the First World War.

I agree that the decision to continue fighting in the first world war was indeed a contributor of the provisional government failure. However I feel its significance carries less weight when evaluated against other political, economic and social factors.

The provisional government was devised from members of the previous state Duma. They carried no true legislative or administrative power, they had previously only had limited advisory and legislative power. The body had not been democratically elected and thus lacked a degree of legitimate authority. In relation to the question at hand, an evaluation must be made that the body began as illegitimate and weak. When considering this against the First world war the observation must be considered that the administration and political leadership was already challenged. The body lacked authority continually and is arguably a reason for the formation of the “dual authority”. The Soviet order 1 gave a newly developed body a veto over the newly established government and thus made it ineffective at passing legislation. Compromise would have to be made with the PS.