Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I was wondering if there were any other GEM applicants/current students who would mind telling me what their situation is?

I only decided a few months ago that I definitely wanted to pursue medicine and whilst I have plenty of work experience working with people etc. I don't have any direct healthcare experience and would have to apply without it as although I'm organising it, I doubt I'll have done much by the 15 October deadline. This is mainly because it'll have to be in my university town and I don't go back until the end of September. Also, whilst my pre-university academic profile is excellent and I got good grades in first year, mental health problems (major nervous breakdown, self-harming etc.) meant I bombed my second year and my grades in 3rd year whilst recovering, aren't perfect. I'm currently on a low 2:1 going into my MSCi year and whilst I'm sure that I would be predicted a 2:1 (I'm aiming for a first this year), I'm worried that if they ask to see my transcript I would automatically get thrown into the trash. Consequently, I feel like applying with my final degree classification may be a better option in this respect. Additionally, I'm planning to sit the GAMSAT in March so that next September (if I apply next year) I can concentrate on the UKCAT. My window to sit the UKCAT this year is narrowing and I wouldn't be able to prepare for the UKCAT in time so if I applied this year it would have to be all UKCAT (not intending to go down the BMAT route).

Has anyone else been in a similar situation as me/can you advise me on what to do? I don't particularly want to take a gap year but I also realise that I would probably have a much higher chance of getting anywhere if I applied next year.

Thanks

ReputationRep: