Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

2:2 Degree from UCL, what are my options? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I just graduated from UCL with a high 2:2 (BSc.Chemistry (Hons) and feel devastated as expected. My third year grades have not been resounding mainly due to founding a rapidly growing fintech start-up in second year (Which I aim to temporarily leave for a grad scheme to gain more experience). I have extensive experience otherwise with EY and Google summer Internships + 1 Banking summer analyst role.

Can this experience serve as extenuating circumstances for 2:1 graduate schemes and what are my prospects?

Any advice is very much appreciated!
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Alana.S2017)
    I just graduated from UCL with a high 2:2 (BSc.Chemistry (Hons) and feel devastated as expected. My third year grades have not been resounding mainly due to founding a rapidly growing fintech start-up in second year (Which I aim to temporarily leave for a grad scheme to gain more experience). I have extensive experience otherwise with EY and Google summer Internships + 1 Banking summer analyst role.

Can this experience serve as extenuating circumstances for 2:1 graduate schemes and what are my prospects?

Its very tricky and unusual. I assume the start up got you into Google and EY, but in the end its cost you the 2:1.

You can approach employers and find out beforehand and they might be interested. I wouldnt apply just blind because they could simply bin all those that arent 2:1 or above.

I am unconvinced that your situation will count as extenuating circumstances, but you can try. Imo EC are normally reserved for events beyond a persons control such as bereavement or a mental illness, although the latter brings its own troubles.