Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys. I'm applying to university next September and I thought I had made up my mind about studying computer science but now I'm not too sure. This isn't a subject that I did at GCSE or an dong at A-Level. I wanted to do it for A-Level but there was timetabling problems; it was either that or ICT and I chose ICT as it was a subject I knew I was good at. Afterward I decided I wanted to study computer science at university but it was already too late. Now I'm not sure if it is something I can do; I have no experience in computer science so I'm scared I wont get into any universities when there are people who do. And this will be a new subject area for me, so I don't want to regret it. ICT however, I know I can do. I will probably have a much easier time getting into a ICT course then I will a computer science course. It's kind of a safe area because I know that I'm good at it. I don't know what to do. I cant apply to both ad my personal statement will be very different. Any advice guys? All will be appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    Whilst Computer Science is the superior A Level (in my opinion), because it much furthers your understanding into the actual working of the computer.

However having said that, it's highly subjective. Funnily enough, you don't really need Computer Science A Level to do a degree in it. IT may suffice as sufficient Computer A Level. Additionally, most Unis for CompSci only really want Maths (or maybe Physics). The one's I've checked at least. I know people who did Maths and the 3 sciences and still got in to Russell Group institutions for CompSci.

To counteract this, there is a simpler alternative.