Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Concerns over New GCSE’s Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hiya, I’m currently in year 10 and am really worried about how I’m going to do in my GCSE exams next year. Out year group will be the first to do the new GCSE’s (1-9). I’m currently studying, triple science, computer science, history, geography, maths and English lit+language.

I have aspirations to become an airline pilot which I know requires me to do exceptionally well in GCSE’s and A-Levels, but I feel like, even though I am trying my best and revising as much as possible I won’t get decent GCSE results.

Maths and chemistry are my biggest concern as the teachers in those lessons don’t give a ****. They offer no support, especially in maths. I am currently in top set for maths which I’m not even supposed to be in as the school forced me to move up a set as otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to do triple science As an option. I’m really struggling in that class as everyone else is understanding stuff and I’m really struggling and stressed out. In the lesson all we do is do pages upon pages of book work with no teacher input and student-teacher communication which seems to run throughout the school.

We have just done our mock exams and I failed my maths paper by 3 grades and failed My chemistry by 2 grades.

So basically I’m asking you guys if you can give me any advice as I’m so scared that if I fail my exams i won’t know what to do with my life anymore. Maybe I’m over reacting I don’t know but any advice at all will be welcome!

ReputationRep:
    Well firstly you need it sit down and have a good brew... You sound worse than me after my mechanics exam...

Secondly, GCSEs dont determine your destiny... so don't be fooled by that.