Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Learning Spanish and German Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Have you got any useful resources? I not learning for A level or GCSE.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by djbrowniej19)
    Hi :wavey:
    Have you tried Duolingo? It's a pretty good website/app for learning languages. It's a good place to start, but you will need more resources to complement it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by djbrowniej19)
    Stay away from any language apps that just teach you sayings and not grammar/linguistics behind the language eg duolingo, rosetta stone, etc

I did French and German A Level and self taught Spanish (learning 3 years so pretty confident now)- I ordered a CGP revision guide for KS3 and learned basic vocab like body parts, numbers, family members, politeness, alphabet, bday, etc (all the stuff you do in lower school languages), then I bought grammar guides to learn about the articles and cases. Both together were about £12 on amazon, so would reccommend! Get sheets of paper and nice sharpies and make word fans to memorize vocabulary.

Other ways to learn vocabulary:
    1) Quizlet- make a free account online w/ email and make the most of online flashcards, vocab games, tests
    2) speak phrases to yourself and record them and listen to them

Ways to improve fluency/confidence even if your overall grasp of the language isn't strong:
    1) Put Spanish/German subtitles on tv/films
    2) Listen to Spanish/German music/radio stations/spotify playlists
    3) watch Spanish/German youtubers (google them and find a list), TV shows (look up Spanish TV channels and you should be able to stream- ZDF is the German one and they've got loads of dramas/other TV series!
    4) When you go on holiday abroad, go into the local newsagents and get any newspaper/magazine in these languages. I've been getting German newspapers and magazines since I was at GCSE and it really helps