The Student Room Group

Master's in Neuroscience - Job prospects? Industry vs Academia

Hey all, I'm due to start a Master's in Neuroscience this September at a great uni. (Previous degree: Biomedical Science 2.1).

I'm worried it'll be a waste... I'd like to go into research but probably in industry rather than academia (probably due to the poor pay I hear a lot about).

After spending a year off trying to get a good placement/lab job I've had no experience.

Can someone please help me understand my prospects with a Master's in Neuroscience and what my possible options might be? Is neuroscience the wrong subject to go into if you want to work in bigpharma research/industry?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you
Original post by idungoofed
Hey all, I'm due to start a Master's in Neuroscience this September at a great uni. (Previous degree: Biomedical Science 2.1).

I'm worried it'll be a waste... I'd like to go into research but probably in industry rather than academia (probably due to the poor pay I hear a lot about).

After spending a year off trying to get a good placement/lab job I've had no experience.

Can someone please help me understand my prospects with a Master's in Neuroscience and what my possible options might be? Is neuroscience the wrong subject to go into if you want to work in bigpharma research/industry?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you

Hey, I'm not doing neuroscience but I'm in a similar situation with regards to industry vs. academia as I'm about to do a masters in Psychology.

I actually got offers to do MRes in a couple universities but then asked admissions if I could switch to clinical or counselling psychology as it would help in the private sector but I really do think my passion is with research and academia.