Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Right so I'm currently 17 and have the option stay on at collage for another year then got to uni (provided I get the grades) or I could get a 3-4 year apprenticeship in the field I wish to study in, Engineering and then go to university at around 22. Is that too old to have a good time? Would I be more like to do better though? Is it odd being 22 and in halls

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Andy_Price)
    Right so I'm currently 17 and have the option stay on at collage for another year then got to uni (provided I get the grades) or I could get a 3-4 year apprenticeship in the field I wish to study in, Engineering and then go to university at around 22. Is that too old to have a good time? Would I be more like to do better though? Is it odd being 22 and in halls
    I think you'd be getting best of both worlds.

I'm a mature student and I am genuinely having the best time as I don't have all the teenage nonsense to worry about and feel more 'together'.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Andy_Price)
    IMO you should do the apprenticeship in engineering, if you'd prefer to do so, since 22 is defintely not too old for university. Especially, when the number of students taking a gap year, and working for a couple of years before uni, is considered too.

I remember when I first joined my uni's Freshers' chats on Facebook and a few people were asking: "How old will everyone be when they get to uni? I'll be 20/21/22 etc.", so you won't be alone. I personally didn't go to uni straight after college either tbh.

Plus you barely notice peoples' ages: someone you may initially think to be 18 or 19 when you meet them in halls, for instance, could turn out to be 23 or 24 upon asking them. So yeah, being 22 is halls wouldn't be odd at all; and 'course you could still be fun.