Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Did you enjoy living there? I'm supposed to be moving in September and I just want to be sure.
    How did you lock your rooms? Were they secure?
    Are people there noisy?
    What about the washing? How terrible are the washing machines?
    Is there a gym near by? And how much is a mebership?
    What about the food that you had there? Did you starve >.<
    I guess thats all I am curious about...? Thanks
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi grom19,

I’m a recent graduate from Royal Holloway and while I didn’t live in Butler (I was in Kingswood), I hope I can answer some of your questions as the setup of all the halls are pretty similar!

Butler is one of our most popular halls and all the friends I had who lived there really enjoyed it.

For security, all of the halls of residences are accessed by using your college card and the doors will always lock when closed. Your college card can only be used to open your front door, your flat door and room door which makes the buildings secure.

I can’t really say whether people will be noisy or not because I don’t who will be living there, but I’ve never found noise to be a problem when visiting my friends in Butler. If someone is being disruptive, you can always call the campus security and they will be on hand to help you out.

When it comes to washing, the laundry room is in the basement of Tuke, which is next to the post pigeon holes and the housekeeper’s office. I never had any issues with the washing machines or dryers on campus and really enjoyed that they were bigger than average so I could fit most of my wash in a single load.