Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a Scottish student studying Law with English Law in Scotland that allows me to fulfil the requirements set by the Law Society for a qualifying undergraduate LLB Law degree.

Whilst in Scotland you must study a Diploma in Legal Practice at postgraduate level, by my understanding, it is a Legal Practice Course you must study in England?

Is this correct? And why do so little universities offer the Legal Practice Course in England? I can't see any information on the Legal Practice Course from universities like UCL, Durham, Exeter, Bath, etc.

Am I looking in the wrong places or do I have the name of the course wrong or what?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Traditionally only the College of Law (now known as the University of Law) offered the LPC. That has now expanded to a number of other institutions but it isn't a normal university course and the places that offer it don't align to the usual law degree providers.

Many of the larger firms have a preference as to which provider you attend, especially if they're contributing towards the fees. So if you have a training contract offer, talk to your firm about where they would prefer you to go. My firm prefers BPP for example.

If you don't yet have a TC, the course is very expensive so consider taking a year out and getting some work experience, secure a TC then do the LPC.

ReputationRep:
    Great, thanks for that response

ReputationRep:
    The end of this month is the deadline for many firms' TCs starting Sept 2019.
    https://www.lawcareers.net/Solicitor...tractDeadlines
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by aidangranada)
    Hi,

I'm a Scottish student studying Law with English Law in Scotland that allows me to fulfil the requirements set by the Law Society for a qualifying undergraduate LLB Law degree.