Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Human Rights Law work - straight after graduation? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello all! I'm an international student (non-EU so require visa), just gradated with a 2:1 LLB from Birmingham. I have 3 internships (not VCs, just "placements" at human rights and social justice focused firms) lined up all the way until end of September but to stay in the country past mid-October I'll need a "real job".

My question is, since my focus is quite specific, I haven't been aiming for training contracts. Most big firms that does international human rights cases recruit from within (i.e. paralegals) and I've been applying to that, but haven't been hearing back from from anyone else.

My CV is ok (internships every summer since first year, 4 committee posts, pro bono, mooting etc) but my grades were shaky in 1st & 2nd year.

I understand it is hard enough to find HR work for locals, but I wanted to get experience in this field because there's practically none back in my home country (Hong Kong)(Also, human rights isn't really a thing in China...). Should I be ditching human rights for now and try getting more city focused work (or even hopping on the TC train at the very last week?!)? Or should I keep going for human rights related work?

tldr, non-eu student with 2:1 from birmingham want to get UK specific experience. What do?

Thank you all in advance xx
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by peachkitten)
    Hello all! I'm an international student (non-EU so require visa), just gradated with a 2:1 LLB from Birmingham. I have 3 internships (not VCs, just "placements" at human rights and social justice focused firms) lined up all the way until end of September but to stay in the country past mid-October I'll need a "real job".