Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,I have a question about the Open university Computing and IT with Design. I am 21 and work in a Bookmakers (Bookies) taking bets I have 8 GCSE including Maths, English, Science, IT, Engineering. I went to college but studied construction and then worked in that industry for a while but when my apprenticeship finished we was all made redundent.- Question 1 is I want to work in IT or Design (Game Design or Virtual Design) but because the Game Design industry is so hard to get into would the other half of my IT get me a job in like computing maintence like a school It Technician.- Question 2 is should i do a Certificates of Higher Education then a Diplomas of Higher Education and so on until i have a degree or go straight for a honours degree. thanks

ReputationRep:
    The course you're looking at, Q67, devotes half of your study to Computing & IT, and half to a second subject, in your case Design. In the straight Computing & IT degree course, Q62, there are many different computer related focuses you can pursue, and you can end up following as many as three of those paths. The diversity you gain with your second subject in Q67 comes at the cost of diversity in Q62: you can only follow a single computing path. As a result, you can take the Computer Science path OR the Software Engineering path OR the Networking path. To be very useful to IT, such as in a school, you'd want the Networking path or other non-path IT modules, but then couldn't take a path which would help with coding games. In short, studying Design means you have to choose between coding or IT in your path.

However, you don't really need to study IT academically at all to get a job in it. A degree through any path might be enough, or you may need to combine it with a certification that's been self-studied, to get your foot in the door on your first job. In IT, experience is what really matters.