Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an IB student who wishes to study medicine, my subjects are as follows: HL: Bio, Chem, English SL: Math, Arabic, BusinessI have not taken the UKCAT as it is expensive and does not guarantee entrance to UK universities, I also have not taken the MCAT due to the fact that I have not taken Physics and will not be able to answer the questions on the exam.My budget per year for uni is <$20000. I would like to attend a uni in Europe, US, Canada that is accredited in the GCC and of high ranking.I could really use some help, does anyone have any recommendations?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mollymoolla)
    I am an IB student who wishes to study medicine, my subjects are as follows: HL: Bio, Chem, English SL: Math, Arabic, BusinessI have not taken the UKCAT as it is expensive and does not guarantee entrance to UK universities, I also have not taken the MCAT due to the fact that I have not taken Physics and will not be able to answer the questions on the exam.My budget per year for uni is <$20000. I would like to attend a uni in Europe, US, Canada that is accredited in the GCC and of high ranking.I could really use some help, does anyone have any recommendations?

To get in a UK uni for medicine you have to take the UKCAT and/or BMAT, whithout these exams it is impossible to apply there. And no, it does not guarantee you entrance but everyone applying for medicine in the uk has to take these exams. Also, from what I know, the MCAT is taken after finishing a degree in a US college/uni having taken biology, chemistry, physics, calculus etc. classes (those are the recommended classes but you can still apply having done a different degree) with atleast a 3.0 GPA, then you apply for med school (unlike in the majority of the world where you apply directly after high school).