Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Please help me with career ideas. I feel lost Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I feel a bit lost with work at the minute.

I have been a teacher for 10 years, and now work with young people who have been convicted or at risk of anti-social behaviour.

I am starting an MA in Crime and Justice in September with Open Uni.

I have had 4 children and have devoted much of the last 13 years to them. My last child starts school next year, and I really want to get back on a good career path.

A huge aim of mine was to do an MA in Social Work. But I have missed the boat and would struggle to fund another 2 years at uni with 4 children. This is why I am starting my MA with Open Uni.
    I looked into the Step up to Social Work programme, but missed the last cohort - unless they do it again in a few years.

I like the idea of being a probation officer also. Would my MA Crime & Justice help me on to the PQiP?

I would love to join the police, but my long term health problems would deny me entry.

Does anyone have any other ideas?
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Greatt84)
    Hi all,

I have been a teacher for 10 years, and now work with young people who have been convicted or at risk of anti-social behaviour.

I have had 4 children and have devoted much of the last 13 years to them. My last child starts school next year, and I really want to get back on a good career path.

A huge aim of mine was to do an MA in Social Work. But I have missed the boat and would struggle to fund another 2 years at uni with 4 children. This is why I am starting my MA with Open Uni.
    I looked into the Step up to Social Work programme, but missed the last cohort - unless they do it again in a few years.

I like the idea of being a probation officer also. Would my MA Crime & Justice help me on to the PQiP?

I would love to join the police, but my long term health problems would deny me entry.