The Student Room Group

"Single sitting" exam question

I’m 31 years old and I’m studying from the ground up (literally) with a view to going to medical school.

I’m currently undertaking IGCSEs (I did say 'ground up' lol) in Biology, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, Italian, and Physics, and loving it. Once complete I will progress onto A-Levels or International Baccalaureate (I haven’t decided which) in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics.

Many medical schools have stipulations regarding single exam sittings; i.e. not retakes. I was under the impression this related to A-Level exams only, but a friend-of-a-friend mentioned it can relate to GSCEs also, and it’s playing on my mind. My question is this: Will my IGCSEs count as a resit, even with a fifteen-year gap since my original scholastic exams? I did not do A-Levels.
Original post by apx86
I’m 31 years old and I’m studying from the ground up (literally) with a view to going to medical school.

I’m currently undertaking IGCSEs (I did say 'ground up' lol) in Biology, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, Italian, and Physics, and loving it. Once complete I will progress onto A-Levels or International Baccalaureate (I haven’t decided which) in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics.

Many medical schools have stipulations regarding single exam sittings; i.e. not retakes. I was under the impression this related to A-Level exams only, but a friend-of-a-friend mentioned it can relate to GSCEs also, and it’s playing on my mind. My question is this: Will my IGCSEs count as a resit, even with a fifteen-year gap since my original scholastic exams? I did not do A-Levels.

I'm moving this to our medicine section where more people might be able to help but i would suggest contacting medical schools directly as they might consider that as second sittings.
Original post by apx86