Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone, I'm a British student but I've been out of the country for more than 3 years and am currently studying Geology abroad. This means if I go back to the UK to do my Master's, it'll cost around 23k in tuition fees alone. I can probably manage it but it's a hugeeee amount of money. My other option is to study in the EU (most preferably in the Netherlands) where it's way cheaper as I'm considered an EU student (Brexit hasn't taken effect yet).

I'm going to apply to study Geophysics and GIS at Leeds and Edinburgh respectively, Geophysics at Utrecht and Delft(joint Masters with ETH Zurich and RWTH Aachen) in the Netherlands as well as Copenhagen, LMU Munich, Helsinki and Aarhus making up the rest of the countries. My preference is Utrecht at the moment as it's supposed to be one of the best Earth Science universities in Europe, the course appeals to me a lot, and the city looks great too!

I have a lot of family telling me to go to the UK as universities are more recognised and the job prospects will be a lot better afterwards. So my question is... Are they right? If I do proceed to do my Master's in the Netherlands or in those other universities I mentioned, would my job prospects be lower in comparison to doing a Master's in the UK? I've pretty much got my heart set on the Netherlands at the moment, but what my family says is the only thing that seems to be holding me back!

Sorry if I seem a bit ignorant, I know all those universities are world class institutions, I just don't know what it's like to go as an international student or how employers in the UK would perceive the degree. Any help or advice would be much appreciated!

Cheeeers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by adamidris)