Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm an international student, and I'll be needing a mobile phone at Uni. I was looking at the tariffs, and some people have recommended O2. Trouble is that, 25 pounds/month is pretty expensive by my standards, especially since I'll be out of the UK for about 3 months a year!

Are there any cheaper plans?
    And can we use international calling cards on mobile lines? If the answer is no, can we use them from phone booths and how difficult is it to get our hands on one?

I'm getting really worried about it all.. I didn't think it'd be so expensive.

ReputationRep:
    If you do which GSM region is it based and is it SIM locked?

If yes to locked you can get it unlocked in some dodgy phone shop....

Then buy yourself a pay as you go sim card....

This should work out cheaper for you....

Hope this helps.....

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lilsunflower)
    I'm an international student, and I'll be needing a mobile phone at Uni. I was looking at the tariffs, and some people have recommended O2. Trouble is that, 25 pounds/month is pretty expensive by my standards, especially since I'll be out of the UK for about 3 months a year!

Are there any cheaper plans?
    And can we use international calling cards on mobile lines? If the answer is no, can we use them from phone booths and how difficult is it to get our hands on one?

I'm getting really worried about it all.. I didn't think it'd be so expensive.
    You can get contract phones for about £15 a month. I don't know about call costs, have a look at the networks' websites - the main ones are Vodafone, Orange, T Mobile and O2.

ReputationRep:
    You could try getting pay as you go. If you order a SIM card off the O2 site you can get 200 free txt messages a month.
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper