Slm1809
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm just wondering if anyone could offer any opinions/advice on what they think about the Graduate Fast-Track Diploma for CILEx. I graduated from a RG uni last year with a 1st in Law. I've had an offer from a law firm today to start in a supporting role in their private client/wills/probate department. They said they would pay the costs of my CILEx.

Is this a beneficial route into to starting my legal career? I've read so many contrasting opinions online. I'm not sure if I would want to go on and do the LPC to become a solicitor after I'd done the CILEx, it would all depend on opportunities/salaries etc once I had completed it.

Any experiences/advice would be appreciated!
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
If you already have a 1st in a Law degree, from a reputable university no less, then...not to pass judgement on CILEx but I would question why you would need to pursue that route at all.

CILEx is more for legal professionals who have been working in industry without a degree who want to qualify, or those who studied other subjects and don't want to/can't afford to do a GDL.
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 3 years ago
Imo become a solicitor.
Slm1809
Rep:
?
(Original post by artful_lounger)
If you already have a 1st in a Law degree, from a reputable university no less, then...not to pass judgement on CILEx but I would question why you would need to pursue that route at all.

CILEx is more for legal professionals who have been working in industry without a degree who want to qualify, or those who studied other subjects and don't want to/can't afford to do a GDL.

Yeah that's the gist of what I've been reading online. What it comes down to is the fact I can't afford to fund the LPC on my own, and I have little legal work experience so that's why I'm contemplating it
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Slm1809)