The Student Room Group

A Level Government & Poltics

Is A Level Government & Politcs any good? Would you recommend?
Original post by Milooo275

I studied it and i enjoyed it. It depends what you're interested in and whether or not you're interested in UK/US politics
Reply 2
Original post by Boredom101
I studied it and i enjoyed it. It depends what you're interested in and whether or not you're interested in UK/US politics

Looked into the course and looks interesting... don't know much about politics, so would like to learn more... tell me, would you say it's a good A Level to have (like is it considered quite high up for unis)?
Looked into the course and looks interesting... don't know much about politics, so would like to learn more... tell me, would you say it's a good A Level to have (like is it considered quite high up for unis)?

If I'm honest it depends on the course you want to study in university and whether or not you choose to study subjects that are chosen by the majority of people e.g Biology, Chemisty etc. Do A subject that you enjoy! If you're interested in political views then do politics other than that if you're looking for a subject that involves essay writing and isn't entirely based on political views (however you will encounter some politics) I suggest you do choose History.

it's a really interesting subject but it's content based. so unlike maths, chemistry and physics, you'll have to know all your stuff for politics in order to score the top marks. you cannot wink it. some of the other problems with politics as a subject are

1) the current textbooks are outdated for a few years now and the new editions will only be out at the end of next year

2) till today, no one on this forum has shown us with real examples and/or marked scripts as to how to answer the various marker questions