Should I for Russian or German as a new language ?

Watch
Danny1805
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey I know its been asked before but im really struggling on what language I want to learn! I only speak my native English and generally find it hard to learn a new one. Im currently studying a tourism course so ideally it would be great benefit if id learn a new one so im wanting to learn Russian or German.

The reasons for Russian because I have a great interest in the history and culture of the country but I think id have less opportunity to visit there, maybe once or twice. For German I think it would be the opposite, im more likely to visit Germany and German speaking nations but im more interested in Russian. I watched many films and series in both languages (with subtitles) and both sound good to me.

Id plan to learn the basics myself and if all goes well attend a course / class in one. Ive seen articles that both are either hard to learn or others claiming there easier than you think haha so I just cant make my mind up!
PlainDoll
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Russian is incredibly hard to learn I believe due to the different alphabet, so you'd need to be committed.
prostheticzeta
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
russian is really hard, but it is worth a try. German will be much easier for you, as travelling there is so much easier and it is always beneficial to make your self aware of the culture and environment.
Avoid Frimpong
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
As someone who's done both for GCSE, I would recommend German as a first foreign language, to introduce you to grammar rules etc that English doesn't have. I wouldn't recommend Russian for someone who hasn't learned a foreign language before, unless you're really confident. German and Russian are more similar than people think, you could go German First -> then Russian.
Laeliakiwi
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago