How many hours do you put in for a Graphic Design degree?

Watch
AysheaS
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
How many time-tabled hours do you do and how many extra? Especially how many you put in for the final year.

Just wondering as I'm trying to make plans, only just found out I won't get help with childcare costs and I'm studying a top-up course to turn my HND into a degree.

I can't remember how many hours was stated for the course right now so I will have to find that out. But I know you always end up putting more hours in that what is scheduled and just don't know how many because I finished my HND in 2003 so I have no memory of many hours I put in.
CrazyKittenLady
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I put in a lot of hours I would say about 40-50 hours a week. but I worked mainly from home and fit it in with my schedule. I only had to be in uni for the odd lecture once a week for a hour. and project briefings, hand ins and 1-2-1's. Hopefully your course will be flexible for your childcare needs x
AysheaS
Rep:
?
(Original post by CrazyKittenLady)
I put in a lot of hours I would say about 40-50 hours a week. but I worked mainly from home and fit it in with my schedule. I only had to be in uni for the odd lecture once a week for a hour. and project briefings, hand ins and 1-2-1's. Hopefully your course will be flexible for your childcare needs x
They did say they would be flexible.

The HE college have said the course hours will be around 14, still no confirmed timetable yet.

I am worrying a bit about the hours needed for the course. I asked on some Graphic Design Facebook groups too, responses have been similiar hours as you've qouted.

I did ask the course lecturer about how many hours he thinks pupils put in outside of the course but he said he didn't know.

I went to the course exhibition on what should have been industry night so the pupils would have been there. Could have asked them but turns out the college put the wrong night on FB!