The Student Room Group

Help, please, my degree is not going to go anywhere.

I'm 21, and I've jut finished a year of a Creative Writing and Journalism bachelors in London. This came after a year of BA English and History, which frankly was a lot more interesting, but I studied it at a university sixth form center and grew worried about how that would be received by employers.

I've struggled over this year to find any kind of job to go into with this degree, and now before my next year commences I've been asked by my parents to see if I can find something more solid to stand on.

As someone with an understanding of the NHS, my dad in particular wants me to look into various careers he's encountered in the hospital. I have the means and resources to do this, and the time right now, so okay. I've told him that I can't ask for a student loan for this, and been asked to do some research regardless.

I hate my education history as it is, and am already far older than I should be for university. And I can't argue with him on this, because I've had similar concerns, and agree with a lot of my classmates on the issue that we already know what we're being taught and can pick it up in our spare time with far less expense.

Has anybody else bounced from course to course finding a suitable one? Or at the very least taken a degree like creative writing and been able to go somewhere with it? Absolutely sick with worry here.
Original post by liminalloon
I'm 21, and I've jut finished a year of a Creative Writing and Journalism bachelors in London. This came after a year of BA English and History, which frankly was a lot more interesting, but I studied it at a university sixth form center and grew worried about how that would be received by employers.

I've struggled over this year to find any kind of job to go into with this degree, and now before my next year commences I've been asked by my parents to see if I can find something more solid to stand on.