Sazal
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello Everyone,

I am studying for the UKCAT and I am struggling to understand the shape equations for decision making section. Is there any youtube tutorial or online forum explaining how to tackle those questions.

Thanks
COYS...TTID
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Could you post a pic of one, as an example please?
QuentinM
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I thought shapes was abstract reasoning? Unless the code is in symbols?
Sazal
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Name:  DM ukcat.png
Views: 594
Size:  35.9 KB
This is an example of what I am talking about guys
QuentinM
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I think i got it! Its a very complicated (well for me anyway, maybe im just slow this morning) maths problem. Imaging each of the shapes as algebra letters and do substitution.

Gimme a sec to draw my thing out on my computer and i'll upload it in a few mins
QuentinM
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Ok nevermind, i cant get that working right now.

I expanded out the rectangles of the equation you want to solve. So 2 circles equals 8 triangles-something. (because each rectangle is 4 triangles)

Then i changed the circles into the thing we know they are equal to, which contains triangles. So change each of the two circles into two triangles and a square. Now, you have four triangles and two squares equals 8 triangles, minus "something".

This cancels down, to 2squares= 4 triangles - something

Now rearrange the third example you are given. In that, two squares=circle+triangle=square.

Therefore, Circle+triangle-square=4 triangles - something

Remove triangles from the LHS, so Circle-square=3 triangles - something

Rearrange the second example again....two triangles = circle-square. Therefore, three triangles - something = two triangles. BOOM.

I swear you could do that a lot easier, i just thought a complicated route for some reason.
iwannabedrpls
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Thank you! ^^^