Job applications before graduating (3rd year)

Watch
Keynes_101
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello,

I will start my final year this September. I am studying Business Economics. I need some advice on graduate schemes. For example, when to apply. What companies should I target. What are your experiences.

Ideally, I would like to secure a role within my field of study (Business, finance etc). But I am open-minded. Most of all, I just want a career that is rewarding, within a large company, something with prospects. I have work experience (retail, nothing special). I am mature student, soon to be 30.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks ... Simon.
Keynes_101
Rep:
?
(Original post by J-SP)
Business and Finance is a pretty broad spectrum. You probably want to spend some time thinking about what kind of work you enjoy, what motivates you and then try to find areas of business that correlate to those factors. Go to some careers events in the Autumn at your university and speak to potential employers and start to work out which type of direction you want to go in.

Graduate programmes for 2018 start dates - some have opened already, some won't open until October/November and some even possibily later. You might want to sign up to your universities job board so you get notification of deadlines and also sign up to some general grad programme jobs boards like Targetjobs, Milkround, Inside Careers.

You can also set up some job alerts on Linkedin.
Sadly, one of the issues I have is not knowing what I want. I'll certainly take on board your suggestions, thanks.

Can you give examples of graduate programmes that are open now for 2018 start date? Thanks.
jpow
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago