Why do people actually become paralegals?

Watch this thread
username2799682
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
So I am a law student, and I understand that competition for training contracts are rising each year.

However, I picked up a common trend during my research. I have found that most paralegals at top law firms (magic circle) have all been to lower ranked universities for their law degree. This make sense as maybe they could not get a training contract since their degree was from a lower ranked university.

However, I also found some Oxford graduates and some LSE as well as some Warwick graduates who are paralegals as well.

I really don't mean to be mean, but I thought becoming a paralegal is for those who are either broke or cannot get a training contract. I am assuming it is the latter of the two since all these paralegals have LLM degrees and have already completed their LPC (and GDL if required).

So if you attend such great universities such as Oxford, Warwick and LSE why not just get a training contract?
Meany Pie
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 years ago
I would assume most training contracts have more places for internal candidates rather than external.
username2981082
Badges: 19
Rep:
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by billy_k)
So I am a law student, and I understand that competition for training contracts are rising each year.

However, I picked up a common trend during my research. I have found that most paralegals at top law firms (magic circle) have all been to lower ranked universities for their law degree. This make sense as maybe they could not get a training contract since their degree was from a lower ranked university.