Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

AS Choices Academic Enough? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am an ambitious student who recently attained fairly decent GCSE marks - getting 1 A* in English Lit, 8As, 1 B and a double award C (being the only person in my district to pass).

I have chosen the following subjects to do in AS level: - Maths, Physics, French, ICT And possibly Further Maths afterschool.

I aim to do a course at university (in an ideal world a redbrick uni) studying Mathematics with Business, Computer and Business Sciences, Computer Sciences, Mathematics with Physics.

However i also have a fairly deep interest in Biology and am sad to drop the subject. However in order to take Biology i will need to drop French - which in my opinion would reduce the scope of my subjects and show lack of diversity wheras one of the key characters for me is my diversity skills.

Do my current choices show enough scope? Shoudl i drop French for Business Studies or Biology? Is ICT considered academic?

Problem is that if i choose to drop ICT then i will be foreced to take an even less academic subject as Geography is grouped with Physics and also Business Studies and Biology is grouped with French.

Is Maths, French, Physics at A2 and Further Maths + ICT AS level considered good by any means? I really need some advice before my options become cemented.

I already understand that ICT isnt necesary for Comp Sci. however there are no real alternatives as i hate Chemistry and other choices are mainly GNVQs etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep: