Laurenmartin48
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
For my OCR English coursework I need to compare a novel and a play, making up my own question and focus of analysis.

Any suggestions on novels that can be compared to A Streetcar Named Desire or plays that can be compared to J.G Ballard's High Rise (all have to have been written or first performed post 1900)

Any help will be much appreciated
EstelOfTheEyrie
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Laurenmartin48)
For my OCR English coursework I need to compare a novel and a play, making up my own question and focus of analysis.

Any suggestions on novels that can be compared to A Streetcar Named Desire or plays that can be compared to J.G Ballard's High Rise (all have to have been written or first performed post 1900)

Hi,

I studied Streetcar for my A level (Edexcel) so I may know a few comparisons you might like.

Is there any specific topic/theme you want to compare between the play and a novel? Age? Madness? Feminism/gender?
Laurenmartin48
Rep:
?
(Original post by EstelOfTheEyrie)
Hi,

I studied Streetcar for my A level (Edexcel) so I may know a few comparisons you might like.

Is there any specific topic/theme you want to compare between the play and a novel? Age? Madness? Feminism/gender?
I was hoping to focus on class conflict and draw on the conflict between Blanche and Stanley and their respective cultures, but I would also happily do it on feminism!!
EstelOfTheEyrie
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I was hoping to focus on class conflict and draw on the conflict between Blanche and Stanley and their respective cultures, but I would also happily do it on feminism!!
Are there any date restrictions on the novels? I.e do they need to be post-2000?

But here are some ideas anyway:

Feminism/gender:
  • The Handmaid's Tale
  • The Hunger Games
  • The Bloody Chamber

Class:
  • Hard Times
  • Oliver Twist
  • Basically most Dickens novels have a lot class struggles
Laurenmartin48
Rep:
?