The Student Room Group

Pepzi's journey to Medicine :D

I've been considering medicine for the past 6 years after a close relative died (before that I hated the idea of it), and after a brief wobble with some personal problems I'm once again determined to do it. I'm making this thread to motivate myself and see my progress over the coming years.

So I'm going into year 11 in 3 days and these are my predicted grades:
English Language - 8
English Literature - 8
Maths - 9
Biology - 9
Chemistry - 8
Physics - 8
Geography - 9
Religious Studies - 9
French - 8

I'll be applying to sixth form soon and I'll be taking:
- Biology
- Chemistry
- Maths
- EPQ (undecided as to what topic yet, although I've got ages to decide xD).

I'll be taking a gap year after sixth form because that's just what I'd prefer to do. I don't plan to apply for deferred entry - I'll be applying with known A level grades.

I've also got some work experience volunteering at a school for children with special needs over a period of 6 months. Whether this counts or not, I don't know, but it's just a starting point that I can build on.

Medical schools I like the look of:
- Lancaster
- UCL
- St Andrews
- Edinburgh
Obviously this list will probably change, I just thought I'd put the list here. I'm interested in med schools that look at the UKCAT and not the BMAT.

I'll be updating this thread every few days with what I've revised, what I'm doing etc.

For my GCSE's I'm making flashcards and posters for all my content using CGP guides and the specification until I've finished all the content (hopefully by New Years). After that I'll be focusing on reviewing these resources and doing lots of past papers.

So far this Summer I've revised:
- Biology Unit 1 (Cell Biology)
- Chemistry Unit 1 (Atomic Structure and the Periodic Table)
- Physics Unit 1 (Energy)
- Religious Studies Unit 1 (Christian Beliefs, Teachings and Practices)
- Geography Unit 1A (The Challenge of Natural Hazards)