scared about starting A-Level Chemistry

Watch
peacheyroses
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
so I'll be starting year 12 in less than 2 weeks and I'll be taking Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Chemistry.

I'm kinda worried that I'm gonna find chemistry really hard and hate it. I got an A* at GCSE (I'm not sure how many marks i got but I found the chemistry exams really easy so I'm assuming it was a pretty high A*).

I actually absolutely hated chemistry throughout GCSE, mainly because I couldn't understand it - due to the fact that I never actually paid much attention in class (oops) even though I'm actually a really hard working student.

I was set on doing A level French but after revising for my GCSEs, I realised that I actually could understand the material and in turn started to enjoy it a lot more and that's what has led me to change my subjects. It's also a lot more useful to me than French and will open me up to a lot more sciencey degrees (so I'm not just limited to physics/ maths/ engineering degrees incase I change my mind).

I'm just scared I'm going to start it and find it really difficult and regret my decision.
honeybee1
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I'm about to start year 12 aswell and have chosen French, biology & chemistry. I'm nervous to start chemistry aswell as I believe it's really difficult, if you don't enjoy it or find it too hard, I'm sure they'll let you change to a different subject. That's what I plan on doing anyway.
IvoryToast
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I cant sugarcoat A level chemistry, i did the same four a levels (physics, chemistry, maths and further maths) and chemistry was the by far the hardest for me.
You have to actively enjoy revising it- self study it loads , understand every line of the textbooks- its not like maths subjects where its eady to just do batches of questions. Chemistry requires a lot more motivation and initiative.