Writing a personal statement for a course you haven't previously studied Watch

loboharibo
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
At A level, I am studying Maths, Physics and Accounting (so no creative subjects). I really wanted to apply to do graphic design as it's been a passion of mine for a long time but with choosing these subjects at A level I feel as though I've restricted myself to one route. My focus this past year has been on pretty much just maths so I have very little evidence in the art and design field. I was just hoping to get advice on whether it's a good idea to apply for a foundation course and also what to include in my personal statement and/or what I can do to gain experience in this subject.
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by loboharibo)
At A level, I am studying Maths, Physics and Accounting (so no creative subjects). I really wanted to apply to do graphic design as it's been a passion of mine for a long time but with choosing these subjects at A level I feel as though I've restricted myself to one route. My focus this past year has been on pretty much just maths so I have very little evidence in the art and design field. I was just hoping to get advice on whether it's a good idea to apply for a foundation course and also what to include in my personal statement and/or what I can do to gain experience in this subject.
I think if you're struggling with what to write you're likely to find it impossible to provide a portfolio of artwork. The portfolio is the thing that will normally decide whether you get an offer or not for creative subjects.

If you don't have anything then you need to devote your spare time to building your portfolio. That should then give you things to write about (visiting galleries for inspiration, reading GD blogs, and developing your creative style and skills).