Need help with railcards and traveling to college!

Watch
harveywlong
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello,

I'm a student studying at a college in Redhill and I live in Horley. Both of which are London zones. I used to have a 16+ Oyster Card and my mum would top up my expenses for college and I'd cover my work expenses.

However, Now that I'm 18 I can't apply for a 16+ oyster card and from the TfL website, the 18+ oyster card is no longer a thing. I was thinking about a 16-25 Railcard but in theory, I'd like an oyster as it's just tapped and go and saves me having to buy tickets everyday. Could somebody please give me an idea as to what would be the cheapest way to travel via train?
Blue_Cow
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by harveywlong)
Hello,

I'm a student studying at a college in Redhill and I live in Horley. Both of which are London zones. I used to have a 16+ Oyster Card and my mum would top up my expenses for college and I'd cover my work expenses.

However, Now that I'm 18 I can't apply for a 16+ oyster card and from the TfL website, the 18+ oyster card is no longer a thing. I was thinking about a 16-25 Railcard but in theory, I'd like an oyster as it's just tapped and go and saves me having to buy tickets everyday. Could somebody please give me an idea as to what would be the cheapest way to travel via train?
Since when was the 18+ Oyster not a thing?
harveywlong
Rep:
?
(Original post by Blue_Cow)
Since when was the 18+ Oyster not a thing?
It says this when I try to make a web account

The Transport for London 18+ Student Oyster photocard scheme 2016-2017 closed on the 31 July 2017.
Please check with your education establishment to see if it is participating in the 2017-2018 scheme starting on 1 September 2017.
If so you may be eligible to re-apply from that date.