The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Oh, and what is the NHS..? an insurance company?? (sorry for any dumb questions, but I have no idea :biggrin: )
Reply 2
Rikku
Hey,
I'm a future overseas EU student and I have NO idea about how health insurance works for ppl like me in the UK..
please help..
what's the best company?
how much do you pay (in my country it's for free for students)?
do they help me with all this at my uni during fresher's week??
THANX :smile:

We have the NHS over here, so I have no idea about health insurance, I am not sure if you will need it or not though.
Rikku
Oh, and what is the NHS..? an insurance company?? (sorry for any dumb questions, but I have no idea :biggrin: )

NHS is the National Health Service. Meaning healthcare is free.
Reply 4
Rikku

The NHS is the national health service, it gives free health care to all who can legally live here, well I think it does. It is government run.
Reply 5
so no health insurance companies, only NHS, which is free?
Cool...
thanx a lot for the help ... :biggrin:
Rikku
so no health insurance companies, only NHS, which is free?
Cool...
thanx a lot for the help ... :biggrin:

not quite right there, in the uk we have the NHS which as others have said is the National Health Service, through which you can get free healthcare, opperations, perscription only medicine at a discount, and also cheep dental and eye checks/treatment. if your a student in the uk, you can also fill in a form to check if your poor enough to get your dental/eye/persciptions free.

however, private healthcare does also exists. the biggest provider of private healthcare is bupa. so if you have lots of money, and want what some people may say is a quicker/better service...you can stil spend lots of money on healthcare.

love Katy ***
Reply 7