username2772886
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Anyone who has studied Accounting and Finance or is in their second year, have any advice for a first year?Any useful books I should read before going to uni or any advice about things to look out for would be very useful and much appreciated ))
luq_ali
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Peace and blessings,

I have my undergraduate degree, (Bachelors of Science) in accounting. I think one thing I wish I had been told was NOT to fall behind on any exercise/practice sheet components of the course. Accounting, in particular, is VERY unforgiving when you fall behind, and if this is your first experience learning Accounting, it is very important to stay current (and to the extent you can, I would highly suggest trying to get a bit ahead on weekends, too.), not just with the readings, but with actual practice on the balance sheets, working papers-some of which will seem tedious, but if you can stay current, it will really help. Financial accounting will include some basics on finance,calculating compounding interests, and achieving a good understanding of those concepts, from the outset, will be critical when it comes time to get into specific study of corporation finance and investments later on. As a point of over emphasis, early mastery of the practice papers, knowing how to track assets, liabilities, owners equity, revenues, and expense (known as ALORE) is essential, and if you master those early concepts, literally, while a student, you could perhaps work in book-keeping part, time, in a hotel, for example-this area is a core foundation.

I'm going to give you two recommendations, both are "old school"-but I found them both highly useful. (and best of all, they have nothing to do with accounting per se-so they will be a welcome divergence), but do have much to do with aspects of general business (and in the case of the second book, finance, too.)