Am I being paid to much? Watch

Mutmit287
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am a third year medical student and have just received confirmation of my student finance entitlement, but I am worried I am being paid to much. I have heard in the past that when SFE make mistakes in overfunding people they expect you to pay them back (even if it was their mistake).

Bit of background my mum doesn't work (single parent) and hence I usually get the full grant and loan (I was a 2015/16 starter so I am on the old loan + grant system). In years 1&2 my combined loan and grant came to around £7500 but this year they have come to £9000. My grant is the same as both previous years but my loan is £1500 more.

I was wondering if this could be an overpayment and if so how do I sort this. I dont want to spend this money and then be in debt knowing I have to pay it back because of SFEs mistake.
Laura S SFE
  •  Official Rep
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi Natalierm2707,

The only things that could affect your loan amount would be household income, your loan rate depending on where you are living (eg. in the parental home, elsewhere or studying in London) or you can get a long course loan that we apply automatically based on the length of your course which could increase your loan amount.

Household income wouldn't have affected the amount you were awarded based on your Mum's single status and income. It sounds as if previously you were getting the elsewhere rate of Maintenance Loan (ML) so if you have applied for this again as living away from the parental home and not changed where you are studying then this should be the same as well.