The Student Room Group

Bio-Veterinary science...

Does anyone know much about these courses/do this themselves?

Im keen to know more about what this course is about and what it leads to.

Cheers Guys
x
Grace

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Yes Im studying BSc(Hons) Bioveterinary Science at Hartpury college, you don't qualify as anything when you graduate, e.g. you can't work as a vet but you can go into most animal science related careers, and not just in labs. The course is really good, this year I'm taking modules in Veterinary Science, Companion Animal Management, Animal Behaviour, Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology and Nutrition. Its very hands on, you learn about animal husbandry and diseases throughout the course and no doubt there will be plenty of chances for work experience; at Hartpury college I work at the stud farm and equine vet clinic. With my degree Im hoping to get into vet school. You can also choose what modules you do so you can go for the more practically-based ones depending on what you want as a career.
Reply 2
Shockley
Yes Im studying BSc(Hons) Bioveterinary Science at Hartpury college, you don't qualify as anything when you graduate, e.g. you can't work as a vet but you can go into most animal science related careers, and not just in labs. The course is really good, this year I'm taking modules in Veterinary Science, Companion Animal Management, Animal Behaviour, Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology and Nutrition. Its very hands on, you learn about animal husbandry and diseases throughout the course and no doubt there will be plenty of chances for work experience; at Hartpury college I work at the stud farm and equine vet clinic. With my degree Im hoping to get into vet school. You can also choose what modules you do so you can go for the more practically-based ones depending on what you want as a career.

Thanks Shockley

How are you asessed? Is it challenging and varied work wise?

Also, do you have an example timetable?