New or old specification A-Level Edexcel Maths? Watch

AliceBall
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hey folks,

I'm a mature student teaching myself A-Level maths in the hope to take all the exams in 2018.
I'm in the process of trying to pick between the old specification and the new one.
I'm leaning towards the new specification, but am worried that there will not be the same resources available , such as past papers(I have found one past paper for the new specification compared to fourteen of the old one.)

Does anyone have some helpful advice out there?
And is anyone in a similar position?
sulaimanali
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
subjects? exam boards?
sulaimanali
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
OLD obviously though.
The Learn Ranger
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
moving to Maths forum
memesherrif101
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
OLD, modules are where it's at
Sir Cumference
  • Study Helper
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by AliceBall)
Hey folks,

I'm a mature student teaching myself A-Level maths in the hope to take all the exams in 2018.
I'm in the process of trying to pick between the old specification and the new one.
I'm leaning towards the new specification, but am worried that there will not be the same resources available , such as past papers(I have found one past paper for the new specification compared to fourteen of the old one.)

Does anyone have some helpful advice out there?
And is anyone in a similar position?
It's a tricky decision. Are you definitely planning to take all the exams in 2018? After 2018 you won't be able to take all of the modules for the first time so if you went modular you'd have to take all the modules next year.

You're right that the modular spec has a lot more past papers but questions in these papers can be used as practice for the new spec. But you can get very used to the style of a modular exam by doing loads of past papers and this won't be possible for the linear exams.