Vet/Animal based jobs from a Biology degree? Watch

Tyler2709
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, always wanted to be a vet but unfortunately it doesn't look like it's going to happen! Can anyone advise me on jobs as closely related to this as possible which I could go into from a biology degree? Thanks in advance
by the way, I have 3 years experience working with animals and am probably going to finish my Biology BSc at University of Nottingham with a 2:1
-Eirlys-
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Next option is to be a veterinary nurse. They put a lot of emphasis on having previous experience (working in a veterinary surgery), but having a qualification in veterinary nursing is really important. They have vet nursing degrees, just like a human nursing degree, and it has become apparent that they are employing people almost always who have this degree and who have become registered (having some experience and a diploma like me will not get you employed).
A biology degree would not be that helpful as it does not teach you about animal anatomy, administering anaesthetic and monitoring an animal under anaesthesia (a big part of a vet nurse), picking up on subtle signs of illness, as well as a whole host of other things related to animal care. You generally need a vet nursing degree to become registered; something increasingly requested by surgeries.
Tyler2709
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by hannxm)
Next option is to be a veterinary nurse. They put a lot of emphasis on having previous experience (working in a veterinary surgery), but having a qualification in veterinary nursing is really important. They have vet nursing degrees, just like a human nursing degree, and it has become apparent that they are employing people almost always who have this degree and who have become registered.