macbeth help :( Watch

username3518032
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
hey guys,

im a student who's going into year 10. i want to start a little bit of my revision now so my life will be totally easier.

im doing macbeth for my english gcse but i have no idea what you're meant to revise. i understand you have to do analysis and the translation and stuff. but i dont understand the rest eg:themes.

if any of you guys have smashed your macbeth english exam i really could do with some help as well as how you revised it and what you did to help you like resources etc.

thank you to anyone who replies (hopefully someone will)
wastedcuriosity
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Honestly, studying a Shakespeare play can be pretty hard to grasp the first time round, so I'd wait until your teacher goes through it with you, then begin your revision. I loved Macbeth and the CGP guide book was a life-saver, so invest in that. Best of luck, but don't just focus on Macbeth! You have 2 other books and a poem anthology to study too.

Your question about the themes- read the play first. What's the mood? One of the themes is good vs evil. Another is light and darkness. You'll learn all this as you go along.
username3518032
Rep:
?
(Original post by chloerebecca1)
Honestly, studying a Shakespeare play can be pretty hard to grasp the first time round, so I'd wait until your teacher goes through it with you, then begin your revision. I loved Macbeth and the CGP guide book was a life-saver, so invest in that. Best of luck, but don't just focus on Macbeth! You have 2 other books and a poem anthology to study too.