AisGreen93
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi All,

I'm a mature student (24!) and have been working in the industry for 8 years and have worked my way up to a Head of Marketing position.

I'm looking to solidify my status a little by either taking a year out to do a Masters or studying part time. Ideally the course would be accredited with CIM.

As you might have gathered, that time in the industry means I didn't complete any A-Levels, so it would have to be a course that accepts you based on work experience (I know they're out there!).

Has anyone got any recommendations at all?
Minty
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hey,

Well, you're in a good position, good role at a young age.

I fell into marketing roles and had the same urge for some book learning and letters after my name. I went down the CIM professional development route instead of a full time course. Might that be an option for you?

I took two years to do the Professional Diploma, took four (moderately challenging) courses and came out with a level 6 qualification (one under a masters level) and chartered & MCIM (Member of CIM, second highest membership level) status.

In day-to-day terms it hasn't changed my life, but it's left me much better equipped to understand marketing in a business context, understand how business objectives cascade to marketing objectives and then comm's objectives. I've also used the models they teach, sparingly but when I do it's super-relevant and important. I'm actually doing some 7 P's work at the moment; I find myself working with a load of insight, or data, and see that what I'm doing is 2/3 of the analysis they taught me - I now feel like Im better able to add value and develop that thinking using the models I was taught.

I find that most/all of the senior marketeers I deal with are part of CIM industry groups and that in networking and status terms its really good for me.