catandpizza
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi, I'm an A Level student and I'm interested in medicine but unsure if clinical medicine is a career I want to follow. I am planning to apply for a degree such as biomedical science this coming term and am thinking about then going onto to do graduate medicine afterwards if I'm still interested as I don't want to apply to medicine now when I'm still not 100% sure it's what I want to do. However, I'm worried about the financial cost of this since tuition fees are so high now, and also about the length of studying. How can you fund this, either on the graduate course or the normal 5 years? Is doing a science degree first a bad way to go into medicine?
redsoxs
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
if you meet the prerequisite entry requirements, then I would recommend studying medicine as your first degree, due to the cost burden you mentioned. It is certainly possible to study medicine as a 2nd degree. There are funding option available for medicine as a 2nd ferrée but these can be limited based on the route of entry.

As far as being unsure whether medicine is for you. I would recommend doing work experience/ relevant volunteering. As well as being required for a medicine application it'll also give you a sense of what medicine might be like. Also it's possible to become a research scientist through medicine.
Etomidate
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Doing a biomedical science degree is a very expensive and long-winded way of working out whether or not you want to do medicine.

Why not take a gap year and gain some more work experience?
APPLICANT2016
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by catandpizza)