physconomics
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So, I went to sign up for my sixth form courses today (Maths, Economics and Physics) but the Further Maths teacher convinced me to also take that. She just wants me to try it and said I can drop out whenever I want.

I do enjoy maths and I got a 9 in the gcse, it is not my favourite subject but I do enjoy it, but Im scared that I don't enjoy it "enough" to be good at further maths - everyone speaks about it like its some impossible feat and it really scares me. I dont know if the workload will be much more but I would have studied 3 subjects with 10hrs of frees but now I'm studying 4 subjects with 5hrs of frees. Is it worth it?

(I want to do a degree in either Economics or Physics - more leaning towards Physics, where further maths is quite useful in applications)
Bill Nye
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Yeah, try it. Drop out if you find it too hard. It will be very useful for getting in a uni to do physics, as you have said
math42
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by physconomics)
So, I went to sign up for my sixth form courses today (Maths, Economics and Physics) but the Further Maths teacher convinced me to also take that. She just wants me to try it and said I can drop out whenever I want.

I do enjoy maths and I got a 9 in the gcse, it is not my favourite subject but I do enjoy it, but Im scared that I don't enjoy it "enough" to be good at further maths - everyone speaks about it like its some impossible feat and it really scares me. I dont know if the workload will be much more but I would have studied 3 subjects with 10hrs of frees but now I'm studying 4 subjects with 5hrs of frees. Is it worth it?

(I want to do a degree in either Economics or Physics - more leaning towards Physics, where further maths is quite useful in applications)