Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Thanks
ManLike007
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by mjustliving)
Now I know in your introductory paragraph you said "I will argue that we as a country have greater priorities closer to home, that deserve spending first." and the questions was "Should the government spend more on space exploration?" but isn't it more favourable to give a balanced argument and by that I mean give an equal amount of arguments for both sides for advantages and disadvantages?

I'm no expert at essays but the questions starting with "Should ... " indicates you're discussing both sides of the arguments then giving an overall judgement because this essay was biased as you said in the introductory paragraph.

Regarding opportunity cost, don't forget there's no guarantee of success of investing the money of space exploration into public sectors. How do you know investing that money in education will be effective in the long run? This is an example of an evaluation point you could've written. (same goes for the recession one in your 5th paragraph)

This is just what I've learnt to do in essays is to weigh up both sides, give an evaluation of any few points mentioned then give a final judgement on where you stand in your opinion in this question given what you've already argued and it just seems much more reasonable this way.

Also, whenever you mention or refer to economics, it's advisable to use statistics in my opinion. Perhaps a bit more evidence generally would've made your arguments stronger in your argument as a whole.

These are just my thoughts
Estreth
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by ManLike007)