username3470042
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
So I've only recently decided that I'm applying for a natural science course at Cambridge, however, I have not taken maths at A or AS level (got A* at GCSE), so will I be majorly disadvantaged?
Also, for the admissions test, I know there's a compulsory maths section, so has anyone got any advice for me, since I haven't taken maths, or anyone got any tips for what to expect??
I'm currently studying biology, chemistry and psychology, and got A's in all at AS (also did English Language and got a B)
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Realistically, yes, you probably will be. Technically it's possible, but it would be surprising for them to consider this except where students have non-standard qualifications or other circumstances that prevented them from taking A-level Mathematics (or even just AS-level Mathematics). Having the option to take a core subject for all branches of science and not pursuing it will at the least raise eyebrows I would imagine.

The majority (like, 98%>) will have A-level or AS-level Maths or equivalent - in fact a majority of Physical NatSci, and a minority of Biological NatSci applicants will have Further Maths as well as Maths (although it's not nearly as useful or implicitly necessary for BioNatSci). This is your competition - consider it from their point of view, where they can take a student with untested mathematical ability on a course which uses maths fairly extensively in all course options to some degree, versus someone who has proven they can gain top grades in the subject, and potentially also take the extended course of study with Further Maths to boot.