Sonechka's Ultimate Guide to GCSE Latin

Watch
Quirky Object
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago

Salvete omnes! :banana:

Well done for choosing what is officially the most awesome GCSE subject now comes the slightly harder part...succeeding in it! I'm an A-level Latin student and I recently got an A* in my GCSE, so I thought I would share a few tips which helped me on my way. If you have any more questions or need some guidance, I’ll be happy to help you out

VOCABULARY:
read me
Memorising vocabulary is pretty tedious, but it's also pretty important, and trying to cram in all your vocab just before the exam won't be very effective. You'll remember vocab a lot better if you learn it in small doses all year; if you're a flashcards person, you could make around 10 flashcards or a Quizlet/Memrise set per week all based on a certain theme (e.g. expressions of time, possessive pronouns, 2nd declension nouns), or just make sure that you regularly note down unknown vocab from any translation practice you do. Another good thing to do when you’re learning vocab is to link the words you’re learning to English words which you think might have come from them (their English derivatives). Etymonline is a great website for checking whether an English word is an actual derivative of a Latin one. This will help you to remember the words and will be useful when you’re asked for derivatives in your exam.

There’s one more really important vocab tip which I wish I’d known: words like nam, etiam, idem...basically all the short, easily-missed connectives and modifiers are so, so crucial to learn! This is because missing out a word counts as a "major error" and will lose you a mark, and also because these words can quite drastically change the sense of a sentence. Make sure you pay particular attention to ensuring that you know all the shorter words on your vocab list, not just the big fancy nouns and verbs. :P

GRAMMAR:
read me