The Student Room Group

Stop Depending on the Government and Tax Payers for a Living!

Since the age of 18 I have worked for my up keep and even when I studied at university for three years. I am currently 23 and working full time.

I personally feel we shouldn't have to work for people who just don't want to work for their own living. There is no such thing as free money!

ONS stated that "The ten per cent of households with the lowest disposable income spent an average of £196 a week in 2013. Of this, half (£98) was spent on food and non-alcoholic drinks, transport, housing (including net rent), and household fuel and power." Where does the rest of it go? Beer and Cigarettes?

£196 a week is given to somebody who stays at home while others work 28 hours at £7.50p to earn this money. A few of acquintances of mine complain about the strain the living cost has on their mental state as they find it hard to make ends meet. While someone sitting on the sofa with cup of tea refuses to lift a finger to support themselves. It is disgusting to know that this what being British it now. :frown:

On top of that, they decide to bring kids into that environment to which they receive further funding per child. For example, I have met this one family of nine, the parents do not work and stay at home to look after their own kids solely to receive more money. I just do not understand why you would have six kids if you know you are not able to provide for them...Correction, it's okay, the government will pay my way. Why should people who in

Bring on the years of austerity!

These benefits were not to be taken as a long term fix people, they were there to support people during illness or lack of income for a quantified amount of time.

Although, the current government need to provide better incentives for people to work. If your aim in life is to live hand to mouth then you will live comfortably on the tax payer's money.
Reply 1
Stfu
Gtfo op !!