The Student Room Group

Black work colleague accusing me of being racist

I made a comment that I felt sympathy for someone I was working with (I work in healthcare). My work colleague asked why and I said because he needs support services but they all reject him because he has a criminal conviction for racial harassment. He'd called someone a racist term while in an argument.

The work colleague said that he deserves it if he's racist etc.

However I know this guy and he's got a mild learning disability and other disabilities. Also, I'm in no way saying what he did wasn't wrong but just that I feel some sympathy that he hasn't been able to get the support he needs.

He's now blanking me and ignoring me in all interactions. He's told our manager who has said it sounds like I'm sympathising with a racist!

I'm so shocked at this response as I really really didn't mean that. I don't have aspergers but im socially awkward and and sometimes don't say things perfectly. I've never been called racist before though!

What would you do now and am I being unreasonable to consider this reaction a little over the top?
So many entitled whiny morons in this world, like your colleague.
Reply 2
My manager said sometimes I'm cringe worthy but sometimes I struggle socially. I think it's really obvious when someone is actually and deliberately racist and socially awkward.
No I think you aren't being racist.

Spent criminal convinctions imply that the criminal has served their punishment and thus deserve equality and that means getting support if you need it as much as anyone else.

I'm not suggesting a child abuser should be allowed to work with children, that's a different scenario, clearly. Just in case anyone was going to misunderstand me.
(edited 6 years ago)
They are aware this person has learning difficulties? If so as healthcare professionals they need to be less emotive and more clinical in their opinions.