The Student Room Group

Depressed. Embarrassed AF

Hi,

So basically, a few months ago - my life was going well. I was so happy in life - like literally I was proud to call myself a grown man. I was working for a top company, was making decent money (sure it wasn't top pay) but it came with happiness and my life was busy. I enjoyed the working life, wearing a nice suit and tie to work everyday - having the good banter with my coworkers.

However, all good things come to an end - and well I soon became redundant and unemployed. This was due to the fact that I was only there on a contract and I planned to apply for other places whilst I was there.

Now, I am unemployed and looking for jobs. I have a First Class degree and some experience. Been putting so many applications and all I have been getting is rejections and false hopes! I've been getting a bit unhealthy and my parents have been nagging and annoying me everyday. I don't blame them BUT IT IS NOT MY FAULT! I have been applying every ****ing day and yet no ****er wants me. I've been getting depressed and now I smoke a bit of weed. The thing is, I was always against it and recently when people found out, they were disappointed in me. I am worried people are going to judge me.

Unemployment is killing me. No more friends and happiness.
Reply 1
Sit down frankly with your parents and ask them to go through your CV with them, show them any rejection letters you've received and cover pages you've sent out - it will help them comprehend the difficulties you're having if you can prove that you've really been having them.

While you're at it, be open and honest with them about the effect their nagging is having. Hopefully, they will appreciate the honesty and back off a bit if they realise it is having a negative impact.

Forget about the weed thing - it's not important in the grand scheme of things - but ensure you don't start to become dependent on it to distract yourself from the situation.

What field do you work in?